EFQM | Primary Partner

UK Excellence Award

Our Excellence Awards are moving

2018 marks our 25 year Anniversary. That’s 25 years since we began supporting organisations of all sizes and sectors to improve and become beacons of business excellence.

To celebrate this milestone, and in line with our own continuous improvement journey, we are moving our annual UK Excellence Awards Ceremony to Spring 2018, it’s new home going forward.

It will be bigger and better, more engaging and innovative.  New processes, new categories and new approaches to applying will bring more exciting opportunities for your organisation to showcase a commitment to change, continuous improvement and employee development across the whole organisation.

BQF is leading the way in supporting organisations of all sizes and sectors to be better. We’d love to take you with us into 2018 so register your interest today to keep up to date with UK Excellence Awards news and updates.


orange line

What is the UK Excellence Award?

The UK Excellence Award is one of the highest honours any organisation can achieve. Launched in 1994 by BQF, it recognises those who have demonstrated excellence across their business.

All applicants are assessed against the EFQM Excellence Model which provides a structured pathway for improving business performance – identifying key strengths and areas for improvement.


orange line

2016 UK Excellence Award – Winners and Finalists

WINNER 1: University of Winchester

WINNER 2: CrossCountry Trains


ABM Finance

Arriva Trains Wales

Merseyrail Electrics (2002) Limited

Rejuvo JPCS

Safe Move – Yorkshire Water

orange line


UK Excellence Award applicants may be recognised during the ceremony at the following levels:

Winners and finalists – The jury may identify a number of equal status award winners from among the finalists. These organisations will have shown that they are role models of excellence across all nine criteria of the EFQM Excellence Model.

Excellence 600 – Achieving 600 points (or more) against the EFQM Excellence Model shows that your organisation is performing to exceptionally high standards. Applicants scoring at this level will receive Excellence 600 accreditation.

WINNERS: Congratulations to the following organisations who received Excellence 600 certificates:

Jury commendation – The jury can commend any organisation not selected as a finalist – highlighting that they have made significant progress on their excellence journey.

WINNER: Congratulations to Rejuvo JPCS who received the Jury Commendation at the 2016 UK Excellence Awards


orange line

2015 winners

Bishop Burton College and Ricoh UK Ltd.

Find out more about our winners and finalists.

Find out more