EFQM | Primary Partner

Innovation in Sustainability and Society Award


Entry deadline: 31st October 2017
Innovation Sustainability Award

Innovation in Sustainability and Society Award

Excellent organisations have a positive impact on the world around them by improving and advancing the economic, environmental and social conditions within the communities they impact or interact with.

Why apply?

This award is an opportunity to showcase the innovative and positive impact your organisation has made on ‘People, Planet and Profit’.

How to apply?

Entry is simple – by completion of an online application form and submission of supporting evidence.

Application Criteria

Judges will be looking for:

  • An exemplar approach to sustainability and society that is innovative.
  • Evidence of tangible objectives, targets and intended outcomes.
  • An impact that is long term rather than short lived.
  • An approach that demonstrates stakeholder (employees, suppliers, clients, society etc.) involvement in the development and deployment of the initiative.

£300 + VAT

per entry


Members also receive up to 30% discount depending on number of award entries submission. Contact us for details.

£500 + VAT

per entry

£150 + VAT

per entry

Dates for your diary

Entries close

31st October 2017

Judging begins

November 2017

Shortlist will be announced

December 2017

Ceremony night

Thursday 15 March 2018


WINNER: University of Winchester

Creating a sustainable future is one of the key strands of the University’s Strategic Plan. Driven by sustainability it seeks to lead the sector in mainstreaming climate change education.
This award submission details the broad range of innovative approaches in place across all areas of the University, including renewable energy, food waste, transport and biodiversity to tackle the significant challenge of reducing its environmental impact and mitigating risks of climate change from its operations.

Award Judges

Jamie Thums

Chief Operating Officer at Lintott Control Systems Limited


“Since first becoming involved with the Excellence Model & UK Excellence Award, I have valued the persistence & contribution of BQF in championing excellence across the spectrum of UK organisations.  I fervently believe the quest for excellence matters more than ever & I’m delighted to share with & add to my experience by becoming a BQF panel judge.”

Read more

Jamie is Chief Operating Officer of Lintott Control Systems Limited & Chair of the New Anglia Advanced Manufacturing & Engineering sector group.

Following the completion of an engineering apprenticeship, Jamie went on to gain a BSc (Hons) degree in Design, Technology & Management.  With some 25 years’ experience gained within the Manufacturing Sector, Jamie is today a specialist in business reinvention, development strategy & operational management.  Jamie joined Lintott’s Board in 2012 to help reverse the Company’s historic poor trading performance.  Reinvented, today Lintott has healthy sales prospects & is recognised as an exemplar of CSR & is a pioneer of best practice, productisation & digitisation.

Prior to joining Lintott, Jamie was General Manager of 2 autonomous business units & Head of Excellence at exemplar manufacturer, AESSEAL plc.  The Company’s outstanding performance is mirrored by a plethora of awards & accolades including the UK Excellence Award.

Stephen Barthorpe

Head of Community Engagement, The Mitie Foundation


Stephen is the Head of Community Engagement of the Mitie Foundation and previously Sustainable Business Manager and Corporate Responsibility Manager for Mitie, a major strategic outsourcing and asset management company. From 2006 Stephen developed Mitie’s Corporate Responsibility and Sustainability credentials including attaining ‘Platinum Big Tick’ in BITC’s Corporate Responsibility Index in 2013.

Read more

Prior to joining Mitie in 2005 Stephen was a Principal Lecturer at the University of Glamorgan, teaching, researching and publishing topics in Corporate Responsibility.

Stephen has been a BQF Jury Member for several years and current Chair of the Panel.


Coming soon

Awards FAQs

Am I eligible to enter?

All organisations can enter our awards. Please see our individual award categories pages for more information who can apply and the criterias for applying.

When is entry deadline?

Entry deadlines for the Innovation, Lean Six Sigma and Leadership awards are all on the 31st of October.

Can I get a discount?

BQF Members are eligible for up to 30% discount dependent on how many entries they make.

Innovation Awards: Charities, charitable trusts or not-for-profit organisations are eligible for the discounted rate of £150 plus VAT.

Please contact the Awards team for further information.

Awards Ceremony

For our 25th Anniversary we’ve relocated our awards ceremony to Guildhall – London’s powerhouse since the twelfth century.

2016 Winners

Find out more about the 2016 winners, sponsors and host, Karren Brady.