EFQM | Primary Partner

Excellence In Collaboration Award 2020


Excellence in Collaboration Award

040 BQF UK Excellence Awards 2020 - Excellence in Collaboration Award

It is increasingly normal for organisations to work with partners to achieve desired results for their stakeholders. There are many situations where working in these formal and informal arrangements is necessary in order for complementary capabilities to deliver the outcomes for customers, for example. This new award acknowledges the role that working in collaborative arrangements plays in organisations’ successes.

Why apply?

This award gives you the opportunity to share the success of a partnership, from which you are proud of its achievements. As this award reflects the positive nature of working together this could be the ideal time to submit a joint application with your partner organisation(s) to promote how well it was developed and what have been the successes.

Who should apply?

This award is open to all types of partnering, including supply chain relationships where two or more different organisations have developed a successful way of working together and can demonstrate that success. Individuals, such as sole traders can also nominate their own collaborations.

How to apply?

Entry is simple – by completion of an online application form and submission of supporting evidence.

Application Criteria

The judges will be looking for successful partnership arrangements which you consider demonstrate excellence in the way the partnership was developed, the way it works together on a day to day basis and the results achieved from that partnership for the relevant stakeholders.

Applications for this award must be from different organisations and not from within the same group or a department within the same organisation.


PLEASE NOTE: Gold and Gold Plus members are entitled to 1 free entry to either Excellence in Awards or the Lean Six Sigma Academy Award. Silver members are entitled to a half price entry to either Excellence in Awards or the Lean Six Sigma Academy Award.

£300 + VAT

per entry

£500 + VAT

per entry

£150 + VAT

per entry

Dates for your diary

Entries close

7 February 2020

Judging begins

February 2020

Shortlist will be announced

23 March 2020

Ceremony night

4 June 2020

Award Judges

Kevin Newey

Director of Engineering Assurance at Arm

Kevin Newey

“Disruptor. Technologist. Innovator.

Experienced business transformation, governance and assurance professional with over 20 years’ experience in high tech, software, semiconductor, biotech, pharmaceutical industries.

I am enthusiastic about empowering people with the ability to challenge the status quo and increase their capability by thinking about what truly matters and adds value to their work. I collaborate with brilliant teams to blast through bureaucracy, harness values and strengths and make the impossible possible.

Collaboration will be key to how organisations of all types solve the big hairy problems that the world faces.

2019 Award Winner

Living with Water is a UK voluntary partnership between Yorkshire Water, Hull City Council, East Riding of Yorkshire Council & the Environment Agency. Sharing resources, data and working together to maximise public benefits and amenity achieved through projects to increase flood awareness and reduce the impact of flood risk and flooding events.

Awards FAQs

Can I nominate more than one person for this award?

Yes, you can enter as many individuals as you like for this Leadership Award.

Can I nominate myself for this award?

Individuals cannot apply themselves but should be nominated by a reporting line manager/Head of/Director or previous employer.  The nomination should be endorsed by an additional peer, stakeholder or client.

When is entry deadline?

Entry deadlines for the Innovation, Lean Six Sigma and Leadership awards are all on the 31st of October.

Awards Ceremony

The 2020 awards ceremony is taking place at 8 Northumberland Avenue in the city of London.

2019 Winners

Find out more about the 2019 winners from the UK Excellence Awards ceremony.