Recognise your people for delivering excellent improvement projects

Lean Six Sigma Award

Lean Six Sigma AwardThe Lean Six Sigma Award recognises exceptional performance improvement projects based on Lean Six Sigma.

Projects of all sizes are eligible, and entering provides the opportunity for organisations based in the UK to win recognition for the work that their business excellence professionals are delivering to customers, shareholders and other key stakeholders.

2014 Winner - Office for National Statistics

ONS collects and publishes critical survey data relating to the economy, population and society at all levels and conducts the census in England and Wales every ten years.2014 Lean Six Sigma Award Winner  They delivered a project to address inconsistencies in the management and occupational health assessment of field staff whilst on long term sick leave. This enabled an improved process for getting them back to work, thereby saving additional recruitment costs.

'The ONS team has demonstrated how versatile Lean Six Sigma tools are with a great example of a streamlined and beneficial process.'
Ian Stokes, Chief Executive, BQF

Judging processONS team collecting their award

The judging panel looked primarily at the methodology used and the results achieved, rather than organisational transformation or the scale of the project.

They carried out an initial assessment of each entry and used the following criteria to assess them:

  • The organisation's understanding of the problem
  • The methodology used
  • Application of the correct Lean and/or Six Sigma tools
  • Achievement of bottom line results

Alexander Armstrong

The winner

The winner was revealed at the UK Excellence Award Ceremony which took place on Thursday 16 October 2014 at the InterContinental London Park Lane.

This gala evening is the most prestigious excellence event in the UK business calendar and this year it was hosted by comedian, actor and television presenter Alexander Armstrong.

2014 Finalists 

  • Standard Life
  • Vertu

For more information about the Lean Six Sigma Award and how to enter for 2015, please call the Awards Office on 020 7654 5010 or contact us online. Alternatively please download our information sheet and registration form.